single no meta

Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever2007, SheWolf

Cabin Fever is a blend of folk-rock with blues and country roots, layered with the Echo Hunters’ signature dynamic vocal harmonies and deep soul grooves. The album starts off with the haunting Walking Home , setting the tone for a collection of songs that explore the darker sides of life, love, and the world in which we live. Songs like Bloody Big World – a look at war, environmental degradation, and the chaos around us – and the sombre Going Down, an eerily haunting ballad. But it’s not all doom and gloom. There are upbeats moments, with songs like Ain’t life sweet, from Canadian folk legend Penny Lang, and the up-tempo country ditty Chester. The band also recorded a french song for the first time, covering O Marie, by world-renowned Daniel Lanois. The love them is also well represented, with the bluesy track In My Dreams.

Musicalement, ”Cabin Fever” est un mélange de folk-rock, teinté de roots country et blues, avec toujours les incomparables harmonies vocales, qui sont la marque de fabrique du groupe. L’album porte bien son nom, puisqu’il a été enregistré dans une cabane du Camp Kinkora, à St-Adolphe-de-Howard. Il commence avec le titre Walking Home, qui donne le ton un peu obscur de l’album, que l’on retrouve dans plusieurs chansons, dont Bloody Big World, un regard sur la guerre, la dégradation de l’environnement, et le chaos du monde, qui est traité aussi dans We Are We et Going Down. Mais l’album comprend aussi des plages de clarté, avec des chansons comme Ain’t Life Sweet, une reprise de la légende vivante du folk canadien Penny Lang, ou la chanson d’amour In my dreams, ou encore Chester, au tempo balancé et entraînant. Le groupe a aussi enregistré pour la première fois une chanson en français, en reprenant O Marie de Daniel Lanois, auteur et producteur canadien de renommée internationale.

Tracklist | Sur le disque

  1. Walking Home
  2. Crumbling Into Rust
  3. Chester
  4. O Marie
  5. We Are We
  6. Ain’t Life Sweet
  7. Take Me In
  8. In My Dreams
  9. Bloody Big World
  10. Second Chance
  11. Going Down
  12. Been Thinking About You

Lyrics | Paroles

Download song lyrics in a ZIP archive. Téléchargez les paroles dans une archive ZIP.

Pressclips | Coupures de presse

”Like the best southern barbecue, the best music often benefits from long, slow cooking….But follow up (20 Years) it has at last, with Cabin Fever, a collection of masterful folk-country-blues originals…its shows have become the stuff of legend. Cabin Fever has already scored major rave reviews and lots of airplay on roots music and college radio.” Greg Quill, Toronto Star

”…dark, edgy songs about alienation and looming environmental disaster …Even good old reliable love’s gone south …Then the sun breaks through as the band launches into a tune like the terrific, harmony-rich, seven-minute cover of Penny Lang’s Ain’t Life Sweet and, for a while anyway, all is good.” Patrick Langston, Ottawa Citizen

“It took these crazy folk-rockers two decades to come up with their debut recording so let’s be thankful that the Echo Hunters took only 4 years to produce a follow-up. Their brand-new disc, Cabin Fever, proves the wait worthwhile…” Bernie Perusse, Montreal Gazettte

“The Echos Hunters’ folk-rock is reminiscent of Crosby Stills, Nash and Young, America, and Loggins and Messina….”Cabin Fever” is a well-crafted, thoughtful and thought provoking album…you will find yourself listening to it again and again. It’s the kind of music that stands the test of time…” David Bush, The Eastern Door, Kahnawake weekly

“Montreal’s popular Echo Hunters has released a haunting sophomore album bridging folk, rock, country, Celtic and acoustic blues. Cabin Fever features a collection of dark laments to a world going to you know where in a hand basket, leavened with a couple of brighter songs to ward off thoughts of depression or nihilism.” Robert Reid, Kitchener-Waterloo Record

“confidently performed songs with engaging arrangements and tight harmonies…” Martin Siberok, HOUR Montreal

“Their music is marked by their 40-year plus perspective; zones of dark and light , reflections on war and the environment; their way of playing with folk by continually invoking yet revoking it, extracting all of an atmosphere’s possibilities, developing arrangements from progressive to pop-rock, adding harmonica, resonator guitar, fiddle, leaving room for langourous textures, (it is) gently rhythmical, whether country, bluesy or simply roots….What stands out are the voices, whether in harmony or unison. They’re deeply felt” Yves Bernard, Le Devoir